Wilderness camping?

Queensland specific bushwalking discussion.
Forum rules
Queensland specific bushwalking discussion. Please avoid publishing details of access to sensitive areas with no tracks.

Wilderness camping?

Postby jaclynn » Wed 15 Jul, 2020 12:10 pm

Hi everyone,
I've been becoming more interested in camping recently but I'm very new at it all.

Some background: I'm in QLD (brisbane area), I'm more interested in hiking/camping (survival mode), not glam camping. So everything in my backpack, hiking a few kms and setting up a camp and staying overnight, then hiking back. I wouldn't mind just driving somewhere too and just camping there for the night too.

Now on to some questions:
- Where can I go?
I've read that QLD national parks and forests are protected and I can't find my own wood to create fires. Am I allowed to hike on a trail and setup camp anywhere for the night? Are there only some places I can go? It would be great if there was water (river/stream) where I go.

- Do I need permits?
I've also read with camping sites that you need to book them and pay a fee (no problem with this btw), but obviously with these camp sites, you need to bring everything with you. So assuming the first question has places I can go, do I need a permit or anything like that?

That's all the questions I have at the moment :)

Thanks so much in advance!

(thank you to the whirlpool community for sending me here)
jaclynn
Nothofagus cunninghamii
Nothofagus cunninghamii

Region: Queensland

Re: Wilderness camping?

Postby Wazza1 » Wed 15 Jul, 2020 4:23 pm

Join a bushwalking club
Warwick
Wazza1
Nothofagus cunninghamii
Nothofagus cunninghamii

Region: Victoria

Postby Huntsman247 » Wed 15 Jul, 2020 4:30 pm

This must be the biggest redirect of all time. Lol
Huntsman247
Phyllocladus aspleniifolius

Region: New South Wales

Postby gbagua » Wed 15 Jul, 2020 4:45 pm

gbagua

Postby crollsurf » Wed 15 Jul, 2020 4:58 pm

Hi jaclynn,