DIY Yowies

Discussion about making bushwalking-related equipment.

DIY Yowies

Postby Joe » Mon 21 Jul, 2008 2:37 pm

Having looked a plenty of photos of yowies, I cant understand their expense. Has any local (Devonport) members got a pair I could have a squiz at? If they are the same as what they look in photos I cant see any reason why something VERY similar could not be whacked up for well under $20. To be honest I really cant see why it hasn't happened yet.

Am I missing something here?

Cheers
Joe
Joe
in vino veritas
in vino veritas

ASSOCIATED ORGANISATIONS: Stoney Creek Outdoor Equipment.
Region: Tasmania

Re: DIY Yowies

Postby Joel » Mon 21 Jul, 2008 6:41 pm

I'm no expert on snow shoes, but as far as I can tell you aren't missing much.
I have a pair, use them a fair bit and they work well but are probably the most over priced piece of plastic available IMHO. If you're around cradle mt at any point give me a holler and you can check them out.
Put it this way, I would never buy another pair unless I lived somewhere that really, really needed them. Actuall, even then I would not buy them.
Joel
Athrotaxis cupressoides
Athrotaxis cupressoides

Postby Joel » Mon 21 Jul, 2008 6:43 pm

I should add that I'm a little bit of a cheap-o. If I was a high income earner the money would not bother me
Joel
Athrotaxis cupressoides
Athrotaxis cupressoides

Postby Joe » Mon 21 Jul, 2008 7:40 pm

Talked to a guy tonight who has done a LOT of walking in snow. He has had chance to try pretty much all the shoes available on market due to his occupation, and he rated the yowies pretty low for Tassie conditions. He reckoned that they are very dependant on there being a good crust on the snow and that in the majority of our cases they aren't all that good. Like all anecdotal evidence I would really like a pair to have crack at myself...but at the price there is a LOT that I will buy instead :D