West Gipsland walks

Victoria specific bushwalking discussion.
Forum rules
Victoria specific bushwalking discussion. Please avoid publishing details of access to sensitive areas with no tracks.

West Gipsland walks

Postby hoangle1009 » Fri 08 Oct, 2010 10:20 pm

Hi guys,

I am a total beginner in bush walking. I got charmed by the beautiful Australian nature.
I am starting off bush walking by these walks:

Poverty Point (Old Steel) Bridge Walk - West Gipsland
Mushroom Rocks - West Gipsland
Toorongo Falls via Amphitheatre Falls Loop Track- West Gipsland

If you have any suggestions for me (a total beginner), or what I should know before going, I would really appreciate it.
If there is any other great day walks, that are within 4 hours drive from Melbourne, I would be really happy to hear them out

Hoang
hoangle1009
Nothofagus gunnii
Nothofagus gunnii

Region: Victoria

Re: West Gipsland walks

Postby optdyl » Sat 09 Oct, 2010 11:22 am

hoangle1009 wrote: within 4 hours drive from Melbourne

is the four hours for a return trip, or one way?

If return you might be able to get to The Grampians in Western Victoria; there's some great walking around there. There are also lots of day walks around the Great Ocean Road, see http://www.visitvictoria.com/displayobject.cfm/objectid.35676376-19C7-4AD6-98495A2DCADDEE8A/.

Also, once the weather picks up and the days become a bit longer you might consider some more strenuous day walks in the Alpine National Park (e.g. Mt Bogong and Mt Feathertop). These walks would be more than 4 hours from Melbourne though...

dyl
optdyl
Atherosperma moschatum
Atherosperma moschatum

Postby anne3 » Sat 09 Oct, 2010 1:50 pm

These are all great walks for beginers, if you were really keen you could do Mushroom rock and the bridge all in a day!! Mushroom rocks and The old steel bridge are both on well maintained tracks. If you are up this way it is well worth walking around Walhalla. If you want any local info on this area let me know...Anne