Solar power tests

For all high tech electronic equipment including GPS, PLB, chargers, phones, computers, software. Discussion of simple electrical devices such as torches, belongs in the main 'Equipment' forum.

Solar power tests

Postby BarryK » Mon 22 Sep, 2014 10:33 am

Hi,
I am a retired electronic engineer, in the late 1970s I even briefly worked in solar energy research.

I don't have access to sophisticated test equipment anymore, however, I have managed to conduct some reasonably accurate tests of some solar power systems that will suit backpackers.

For anyone who might be interested, I have created a web page:

http://bkhome.org/light/solar/index.html

The page will be probably be updated sometime.

One up:
The website will eventually have links to more pages.

Regards,
BarryK
BarryK
Athrotaxis cupressoides
Athrotaxis cupressoides

Region: Western Australia

Re: Solar power tests

Postby icefest » Mon 22 Sep, 2014 9:10 pm

Interesting read, though it sounds like you still haven't found the perfect system. :D
If you're ever in Victoria and want to test a powerfilm r28, you're welcome to borrow mine!
Men wanted for hazardous journey. Low wages, bitter cold, long hours of complete darkness. Safe return doubtful.
icefest
Lagarostrobos franklinii
Lagarostrobos franklinii

Region: Victoria

Postby highercountry » Tue 23 Sep, 2014 4:58 pm

Thanks BarryK, very interesting.
I really appreciate the amount of work you've put into the testing and write-up.
My interest in the subject comes from a bicycle touring perspective where I recharge various devices from an inbuilt wheel hub dynamo. I didn't realise that charging a battery and then charging a device from the battery was so inefficient, nor how the manufacturers commonly overstate battery capacity and panel output levels. Very informative (for me).
I've been toying with the idea of combining dynamo charging with a small solar setup for some time now. I'll be watching your site with a great deal of interest.