Help me to frappe'

Food topics, including recipes.

Help me to frappe'

Postby Lamont » Mon 31 Dec, 2018 1:19 pm

Got to thinking this morning about a good frappe recipe to have in the morning.
Just back from a couple of days 'no cook' again, and thought I could go without coffee of some sort early morn-nope can't do it.
In another life, in a long summer far away, I made them for a living and we just used strong 'Greek instant coffee' and cold milk and shook the hell out of them in a frappe container for 30 seconds-any less and I was in trouble from Harris the boss.
So I want to make it again, no heating involved, just shake hard in peanut butter jar or some such.
Tried a few simple recipes and came up with two heaped tea spoons of milk powder(14-16g), one of instant (Nescafe type thing) coffee(7-8g) to app 130 mls water, shook for a half minute and it was okay but not like I remember.
So as Melbourne is the third largest Greek city on earth I thought surely someone must know.
What I want to know from any Greeks or people that use Greek instant coffee on here, is there such a thing as 'Greek instant coffee' or is my memory fuddled? It was some time ago. Those frappes I made were just the best!
Even with non icy water they are perfect for early morns in Summer.
I'm not after the Turkish ('Greek coffee' is more or less the same thing) stuff you boil with sugar. It doesn't work for this.
Neither does Vietnamese/Balinese kopi/Timor coffee or Italian type beans-I have tried them all -just not the same.
I reckon there was something different in the Greek stuff I used.
Anyone know if this magic stuff exists? Thanks
Lamont
Athrotaxis selaginoides
Athrotaxis selaginoides

ASSOCIATED ORGANISATIONS: https://www.againstmalaria.com/
Region: Other Country

Re: Help me to frappe'

Postby Lamont » Thu 03 Jan, 2019 9:02 am

Oh well, no luck where are all the Greeks?
Don't know if anyone wants to frappe' that hasn't thought to try this already but here is my MYOC imitation-