Core spun canvas packs

Bushwalking gear and paraphernalia. Electronic gadget topics (inc. GPS, PLB, chargers) belong in the 'Techno Babble' sub-forum.
Forum rules
TIP: The online Bushwalk Inventory System can help bushwalkers with a variety of bushwalk planning tasks, including: Manage which items they take bushwalking so that they do not forget anything they might need, plan meals for their walks, and automatically compile food/fuel shopping lists (lists of consumables) required to make and cook the meals for each walk. It is particularly useful for planning for groups who share food or other items, but is also useful for individual walkers.

Core spun canvas packs

Postby deeringgoodtime » Thu 08 Feb, 2024 8:49 pm

I am new to hiking and I am about to buy a new pack. I am wondering why the big Australian backpack brands (Mont, OP, WE) all use core spun canvas in their flagship backpacks, but no American brands use this material? If core spun canvas was the best or most durable material, why isn't anyone else using it? 'Rugged' American packs (Mystery Ranch, Hill People Gear etc.) seem to favour 500d Cordura. From what I have read online, it seems that 500d Cordura has better abrasion resistance and tear strength than core spun canvas, but core spun canvas has better water and UV resistance. However, I can't find any definitive sources or tests that show this. Does anyone know how the abrasion resistance of CS canvas compares to Cordura and how water resistant CS canvas is? (waterhead ratings). Thanks!
deeringgoodtime
Nothofagus cunninghamii
Nothofagus cunninghamii

Region: Victoria

Re: Core spun canvas packs

Postby Aardvark » Fri 09 Feb, 2024 12:32 pm